How do I know China wrecked the Copenhagen deal? I was in the room – Mark Lynas in The Guardian

Mark Lynas writes the disheartening tale of what happened in Copenhagen, fingering the Chinese for the failure of Copenhagen:

Copenhagen was a disaster. That much is agreed. But the truth about what actually happened is in danger of being lost amid the spin and inevitable mutual recriminations. The truth is this: China wrecked the talks, intentionally humiliated Barack Obama, and insisted on an awful “deal” so western leaders would walk away carrying the blame. How do I know this? Because I was in the room and saw it happen.

There seems no reason to think the Chinese will behave differently in international negotiations in the next few decades.

2 Responses to How do I know China wrecked the Copenhagen deal? I was in the room – Mark Lynas in The Guardian

  1. Jillian Blackall says:

    Thanks Sacha. This article is very interesting and I haven’t seen it anywhere else because I don’t read the Guardian on a regular basis. I am following you on twitter.

  2. Sacha says:

    Cheers Jillian.

Leave a Reply

