Very poor Australia Post redirection service

I wouldn’t usually write a complaining post – but I’m going to about an ongoing experience with Australia Post’s redirection service – I wonder how many other people have had very bad experiences with it?

The short story is that after organising a redirection, I have received one redirected piece of mail in the last few weeks. I usually received 1-2 pieces of mail a day on average. A great deal of mail hasn’t been redirected and Australia Post has failed to fix this up despite repeated requests. I have no confidence that they will actually redirect the mail.

The longer story is this. I moved about three weeks ago to a new residence close by to my old place and we paid the ~$13 to have Australia Post redirect our mail for a month.

It would have been nice if it worked. The first indication that it wasn’t working was that my old letterbox (which I couldn’t necessarily access) was full of mail on a Tuesday – and new people hadn’t moved in. This was despite the redirection supposedly coming into effect the previous Friday (and had been organised some time beforehand).

So I phoned up the redirection service. After waiting for 20 minutes I chatted to a very helpful person who said that this issue would be investigated and that I would be phoned up that day in regards to it.

There was no phone call that day or afterwards.

However, there was one piece of redirected mail that evening. A good bit of news.

Unfortunately, that weekend we discovered a whole lot of mail at the old address that hadn’t been redirected – about 10 pieces of mail.

I phoned Australia Post up the next Tuesday to get this fixed up. After stating everything that had (and hadn’t) happened, I was assured that it would be fixed up. This time they phoned me that day or the next saying that it would be looked at.

It wasn’t fixed up.

Fortunately, the very nice people in my old apartment block have redirected some mail to us – some of this redirected mail appeared yesterday.

I left phone messages on the Australia Post contact yesterday morning, this morning and this afternoon to call me about this situation. After waiting on the general redirection enquiries line for ~20 minutes this afternoon, an automatic call back was arranged for tomorrow.

Why is it so difficult to arrange for Australia Post to redirect mail as we have paid them for it, for Australia Post to fix up its redirection service after repeated requests, and for its staff to call back as requested?

Appalling. How difficult is it to redirect mail?

6 Responses to Very poor Australia Post redirection service

  1. David Lyons says:

    I am having a similar experience, I paid over $300 to have an international redirection, so all post is sent to us during the months we are overseas. I have discovered that this did not happen at all, in fact they have no record of it. I trusted them (they are the post office after all) and did not bring my receipts with me, so now they cannot do anything about it. All I have is an entry on my bank statement for the amount I paid them..argghhh this is so frustrating….

  2. Sacha says:

    From my experience, the only way to complain is to talk to someone on the phone after potentially waiting 45 minutes, and then they will only promise that it will be looked at and fixed. But of course it may not be, and then you ask again, and they promise again to, and so on. You cannot actually talk to anyone who does anything except log the complaint.

  3. Anne Sikimeti Latu says:

    I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. After waiting on the general redirection enquiries line for MANY TIMES, MANY PROMISES AND NOTHING HAPPENS.

    Why is it so difficult to arrange for Australia Post to redirect mail as we have paid them for it. Are SOME PEOPLE ARE JUST INCOMPETENT or just DON’T CARE. SOME ARE THERE JUST FOR THEIR WAGES AND NOT DOING THEIR JOB PROPERLY. So good luck to you when you redirect your mail if there is a good person in the office of Australia Post to fix up your mail redirection after you have requested it. Any problems arises the staff should call back on any of your requests to follow up on your issues the very day of the complain. The question is!!!!!! Do they care!!!!!!and to me if we don’t have A+ service to match & provide for the money that we pay, it tells me that they are not doing the right thing and there is a huge problem in the SYSTEM to be addressed by the manager and the staff.

    It is Appalling,IGNORANT on their behalf and there should be more advocate on this issue . How and why it can’t be done is because of incompetent staff is on the other side (Post office) who does not know/or do not want to know how to redirect mail?

  4. jonesshannah says:

    I haven’t gone through such an problem till now, but one thing is that the only way to complain is to talk to someone on the phone after potentially waiting 45 minutes, and then they will only promise that it will be looked at and fixed. But of course it may not be, in such case you need to concern the regarding person who should be blamed for such an interruption.
    http://www.mailforwarding.com.au/

  5. Greg Bornmueller says:

    http://www.mailforwarding.com.au/ – just an idiot Idea that I ever heard – Mail re-direction meaning no snail or pig open my mail – just an idiot Oz Post can’t do their work DNA problem eh?

  6. Johne357 says:

    cell phone lookup by name I was just searching for this dgedfegefede

Leave a Reply

