While curiosity killed the cat…

Just a personal thing. I’ve worked full-time for a bit over two years and two months now, and I’ve realised that I’m happiest when I’m finding things out and being creative. I get very unhappy when I’m just a cog in a machine or doing just procedural things.

While curiosity might have killed the cat, it’s long been one of the my driving forces.

I invite readers to comment on the aspects of their personality that they think have been driving forces in their lives.

5 Responses to While curiosity killed the cat…

  1. Darlene says:

    Sigh!!! Negativity. No, I’ve never really thought about it.

  2. Mr T says:

    I think that my personal raison d’etre, apart from consuming trashy celebrity news, ruthlessly pursuing the perfect outfit for every occasion, and even more ruthlessly evaluating the less than perfect outfits of others, has been to involve creativity in my life wherever possible. The day job sometimes does not allow this, but that’s OK. Perspective and balance mean that that in itself teaches me other things, and while not being creative is not my favourite thing, I like other aspects of day job, like money and security for my future. That’s dull, I know, but it’s pragmatic. “If you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.” – Dolly Parton.

  3. Mr T says:

    and……so Sacha, stay curious. You must do as your nature dictates. “twould be unnatural to do anything else!

  4. I’m exactly like you on this Sacha, happiest when solving something that puzzles me.

  5. Brett says:

    Yep, I agree too. The mental challenge of having a problem (either that you find or that you are passed) and solving it, usually in creative and innovative ways is just the best.

    But the physical side is good too – being able to set yourself a challenge (in whatever field you choose – mine is the gym) and then working towards achieving it is right up there too.

Leave a Reply

