Obama on Howard’s criticism

I heard the following story on the ABC radio this morning:

“I think it’s flattering that one of George Bush’s allies on the other side of the world started attacking me the day after I announced [my candidacy],” Senator Obama said.

“I would also note that we have close to 140,000 troops in Iraq and my understanding is Mr Howard has deployed 1,400.

“So if he is…to fight the good fight in Iraq, I would suggest that he calls up another 20,000 Australians and sends them to Iraq, otherwise it’s just a bunch of empty rhetoric.”

Ah yes, we well know that John Howard often offers empty rhetoric. As Kevin Rudd mentioned (referred to in the same story), Howard has potentially undermined the Australian-US alliance (especially if Obama is elected US President). He should distinguish between the underlying Australian-US alliance and the current relationships between the individuals in the US and Australian governments.

Leave a Reply

