On media and blog coverage of the Iraq war

Just a short comment – it seems to me that quite a bit of media coverage (eg at CNN and the SMH)  and blog discussion (eg at Larvatus Prodeo) about the Iraq war and the recent policy to “surge” the number of troops is about whether the US population and politicians support the policy, not about ways in which the situation in Iraq can be improved. Of course, many media reports are more “standard” (eg this BBC story), but I’m surprised at what seems to me to be misplaced energy.

I’d like to see more discussion about how the situation in Iraq can be improved.

4 Responses to On media and blog coverage of the Iraq war

  1. Steve says:

    you’ve gone from none to 2 post about Iraq very quickly!

    I find the whole issue of Iraq very depressing. I opposed the war essentially on the grounds that the risk of something like what we are seeing now would be much worse than under a pressured Saddam. That and the fact that I didn’t believe he had enough WMD’s to pose a viable threat. I thought that it was a likely exageration and it turned out to be correct infact moreso than I thought.

    Now it seems there are two options 1) a greater commitment of troops to force the issue, but I’m not convinced it will at this point 2) getting out as soon as possible to let the inevitable disaster unfold.

    ie. either throw good money after bad in the hope something good might happen or cut our losses knowing the outcome will be bad, but that it will be bad whenever we leave.

  2. Sacha says:

    Yes, something I feel about the withdrawing coalition troops option is that unless the Iraqi armed forces can be made into a proper army and the Iraqi government is genuine about wanting to stop all sectarian violence (and these are very big ifs), I forsee some kind of disasterous sectarian violence, potentially much worse than it is now.

    I havn’t read much about options from people who want to withdraw the troops. I don’t know what a good approach is – I just feel that it’s not being properly discussed!

  3. Sacha says:

    Another thing is that I wonder if different Iraqi political structures would have affected anything – I’m interested in political structures so I think about these things sometimes. In particular, what if the Iraqi parliament was constituted in a way so that a resolution could only be carried by the parliament if a majority of Kurds, a majority of Shi’ite and a majority of Sunni MPs all voted for it, or some similar system? (This is a little like the Northern Ireland Assembly where a resolution can only be carried if a majority of Republicans and a majority of Unionists vote in favour of it – where MPs sign themselves up to be Republicans or Unionists).

    Such “institutional structures” might mean that different groups are more likely to work together – but it’s impossible to know of course.

  4. helmac says:

    Whether a different political structure would help I’m not in a position to know but the present state of affairs just cannot be sustained. Apart from the huge financial cost of the war, the loss of life of both the coalition troops and the people of iraq will blight the lifes of many individuals for many years to come. This is too high a price to pay for the wellbeing of Bushs’ oil barons.

Leave a Reply

