The Sealink Ferry to Kangaroo Island

On our recent holiday, Mr T and I visited Kangaroo Island via the Sealink Ferry, the return fare on which for a Corolla and two adults was an astonishing $317!

Along with the cost, the process involved in getting the car and ourselves on the ferry and off at the other end took a very long time, which I admit was exacerbated as we arrived an hour early on the way to Kangaroo Island. But still.

I thought that a very long bridge between the Fleurier Peninsula and Kangaroo Island could be constructed with a car toll of, say, $100 each way, but perhaps this would be prohibitively expensive or would destroy the quarantined nature of the island? Actually, the toll could be just the current prices – which for passenger vehicles is $124-$158. 

Alternatively, why not introduce a bit of competition and have a competing ferry? It might improve the service and reduce the prices.

28 Responses to The Sealink Ferry to Kangaroo Island

  1. Jake the Snake says:

    Yeah mate that bloody ferry is a ripoff alright. I couldn’t believe it either. Then you get to the place and it is so quiet and boring. What a bloody waste of time. That place is not worth a Kangaroo’s scrotum sack I reckon.

  2. SAISGREAT says:

    You and Mr T and that Jake person don’t deserve to be allowed across the border. You should be treated like fruit fly and the Corolla should be left at the border. I appreciate that you may not have had enough time but research would tell you that it is 150 Kilometres across and that it is worth every cent if you give yourself enough bloody time to waste there. Get a life – read the brochures in advance or stick to the bloody harbour bridge which I think is $3.00 – you can do 100 trips that way but all you will see is two sides of that stupid big city.

  3. Sacha says:

    Well my post was about the Sealink ferry and how expensive it is, not about kangaroo island (which I quite liked), so I don’t know what the last comment is about.

  4. dracochapel says:

    There have been a few competitors this is just the last mob to go bust: http://kangarooisland.yourguide.com.au/news/local/news/general/ferry-for-sale/793244.aspx
    Doesn’t seem like KI is big enough to be able to support two ferry services.

    I’ve been to Kangaroo Island twice, and found the ferries modern and comfortable, and got the car on and off the ferry quickly. though it is a tight fit. Maybe if they were getting some government subsidy they could be cheaper, like how tasmania does:
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/02/07/2156342.htm
    I can’t imagine they can make a bridge (how many hundreds of millions of dollars would that cost?)

  5. Wow, amazing blog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog glance easy. The full look of your site is wonderful, as neatly as the
    content!

  6. I do trust all the ideas you have introduced to your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very quick for newbies. Could you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  7. wireless lan says:

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit
    more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and all.
    However think of if you added some great visuals or video
    clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips,
    this blog could definitely be one of the very best
    in its field. Fantastic blog!

  8. Hiya! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.

    If you have any suggestions, please share.

    Many thanks!

  9. I always spent my half an hour to read this web site’s articles or reviews everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  10. I’m extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the format to your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today.
    .

  11. web search says:

    Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds
    me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he
    will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  12. Its not my first time to go to see this site, i am browsing this web site
    dailly and get pleasant facts from here daily.

  13. Hello friends, its great post concerning educationand fully explained, keep it up all
    the time.

  14. Great information. Lucky me I recently found your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have book marked it for later!

  15. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  16. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this webpage; this blog includes remarkable and actually fine material designed for readers.

  17. Hi all, here every one is sharing these kinds of
    knowledge, therefore it’s fastidious to read this weblog, and I used to go to see this webpage everyday.

  18. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  19. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  20. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others
    like you aided me.

  21. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  22. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and article is
    in fact fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of posts.

  23. The Sealink Ferry to Kangaroo Island | Sachi

    […] What web host are you the usage of? Can I get affiliate hyperlink in your host? I wish web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol[…]

  24. Hi, after reading this amazing paragraph i am
    as well delighted to share my familiarity here with friends.

  25. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  26. always i used to read smaller articles or reviews which
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading here.

  27. Seo In Egypt says:

    I think what you said was very logical. However, think on
    this, suppose you were to create a awesome headline? I am
    not saying your information is not good., however what if you added something that makes people want more?
    I mean The Sealink Ferry to Kangaroo Island | Sachi’s hyperbolic space is kinda boring.
    You should peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create post headlines to
    grab people interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get people excited about what you’ve
    got to say. Just my opinion, it could bring your
    posts a little bit more interesting.

  28. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the greatest sites on the web.

    I will highly recommend this web site!

Leave a Reply

