The Birman-Wenzl-Murakami algebra, Hecke algebra and representations of quantum osp(1|2n)

After 4 months solid work, I’ve finished writing a paper based on the first part of my Ph.D thesis, entitled The Birman-Wenzl-Murakami algebra, Hecke algebra and representations of U_{q}(osp(1/2n)). It includes some new work additional to that in my thesis, but most of it is essentially the first third of my thesis. I’ve submitted the paper to Communications in Mathematical Physics and it lays out the results I talked about on May 19 this year at the Algebra seminar at Sydney University.

The paper may be subject to revisions of course – especially if it gets published. It can be downloaded as a pdf or postscript file from the pre-print server at this page: http://lanl.arxiv.org/abs/math.QA/0607049

This is my first substantial paper and I’m very happy about this. I’ve estimated that this paper represents about 18 months (if not more) of my life. Amazing how your work can be condensed down to 50 odd pages. On a different topic, it’s amazing how much time and effort it takes to write mathematics clearly, whether in the form of papers, talks or otherwise.

6 Responses to The Birman-Wenzl-Murakami algebra, Hecke algebra and representations of quantum osp(1|2n)

  1. Steve says:

    Well doesn’t make much sense to me, but I must say its good that you are still working away on research having left academia as such. I never had that sort of commitment. The best I can manage is a little bit of reading of the literature.

  2. Sacha says:

    I should publish the work in any event, but I’ve also realised that if I don’t publish papers, I don’t have a chance of working in the scientific world at all and I want to keep that option open.

  3. Jason Soon says:

    Congratulations, Sacha! Though I have nothing intelligent to contribute to discussion of your paper other than to note that the only Murakami I’ve heard of is Haruku Murakami.

  4. Sacha says:

    Hi Jason – who’s Haruku? I’ll do an internet search 🙂

  5. Jason Soon says:

    Oops, I meant ‘Haruki’.

    Also, when I first saw the title of your paper I thought it said:
    “The Birdman-Wenzl-Murakami algebra” 🙂

  6. Sacha says:

    *laugh*

    Oooooo – Birdy has wormed his way into your consciousness!

Leave a Reply

