Published article – Two generalisations of the binomial theorem

My first refereed article has just been published in the Gazette of the Australian Mathematical Society – here is the article in pdf format and the table of contents of the volume is: http://www.austms.org.au/Publ/Gazette/2006/Mar06/

This article is effectively Appendix B from my thesis, although it may look slightly different, and it answers two of the math exercises I set in an earlier post. I decided to submit it for publication as I couldn’t find these generalisations in the literature and I thought that other people might find them interesting or useful.

3 Responses to Published article – Two generalisations of the binomial theorem

  1. Steve Edney says:

    Hi Sacha,

    I note on the paper you thank Chris Cosgrove. Did you work with him a lot? I had him as a lecture for a number of courses, a smart guy, but perhaps not the best lecturer. Set really hard assingments but strangely easy exams.

  2. Sacha says:

    No, I didn’t work with him much – one time I was searching for the solution to a different problem, put the problem on the electronic school noticeboard, and he came up with a solution that night… while I didn’t use his solution it gave me a hint to solve another problem I was working on – so I thanked him.

  3. Darren says:

    Nice blog please take a look at mine some time at http://www.genealogy-amor.info

Leave a Reply

