Human Rights forum

Yesterday Mr T and I went to Leichhardt town hall for a very interesting forum on human rights and potential human rights laws in Australia. The speakers were Rob Hulls (the Victorian Attorney-General), former Senator Susan Ryan (from New Matilda) and Julian Burnside, a very erudite human rights QC.

The New Matilda draft Human Rights Bill looks well-worth having a look at – an interesting feature of it is that the model is one in which each Bill is assessed against Human Rights laws, and if the Bill is thought to not be in accordance with the Human Rights laws, then the AG and Parliament are informed of this and they respond in whatever way they think appropriate. So it doesn’t involve Judges striking down laws.

8 Responses to Human Rights forum

  1. Steve Edney says:

    Sacha you might be interested in looking at the discussion of it at Catallaxy some time ago. Also there is a link there to John Quiggin’s discussion of it as well.

  2. Sacha says:

    Thanks Steve – I’ll take a look at it.

  3. WitheHorse says:

    Hi all!
    I like this forum!!

  4. ethicinge says:

    Excuse me, but what the best finance articles you know?
    What you’ll recommend me?

  5. Iniffsige says:

    Hi.
    I’m glad to join to the community.
    It is nice forum.
    But i’d like to know where i can read more?
    newermind 😛

  6. mouluddeday says:

    hey leute!
    ich bin ja noch recht neu hier bei blumensacha.wordpress.com
    sorry also wenn ich direkt mit nem link anfange, aber ich hab vor zwei monaten bei umfragenscout und jetzt gags die erste kohle auf mein konto: 230 EUR!!!
    ich werd mich jetzt jeden tag mit den umfragen beschäftigen, ist auf jeden fall besser als bei edeka paletten einräumen. wenn ihr fragen habt schreibt mir ne PN

    ciao

  7. monsterchupacabra says:

    Hello Everyone!

    I’m Mike. I just signed up and wanted to introduce myself.

  8. rembrantenn says:

    Hi, everyone!

    I have discovered this nice forum yesterday!!
    and I Have just started to do a blog as my new year resoultion, Please visit it. And please leave all your comments as this gives me support

    my music blog
    download rare remixes
    electronic mp3 blog

    Thanks and Best Wishes!

Leave a Reply

